Jessie Lilly

A University student trying to make a positive mark on the world, all the while training and racing to my potential in Triathlon :)

2012 Accomplishments and 2013- Feel the fear and do it anyways

on January 7, 2013

I felt the need to quickly recap on the 2012 year and thank those who have provided support to me as there are many things that occurred in my life that I never thought possible. These experiences have perpetuated me to set higher goals for 2013.

1. Firstly in 2012 I was able to move to Edmonton and train full time under the Edmonton Triathlon Academy and coach Kevin Clark. I owe a great deal of thanks to Kevin for he has travelled from his home in Scottland to the Great White North to help ETA athletes who are new to the sport develop to their full potential. Under his guidance I surprised myself in the 2012 season placing 5th at two of the junior Series race in Magog and Saskatoon, being able to race in PATCO junior championships and qualifying for Canada Summer Games. Two years ago I was happy to  not get lapped out in Junior series races, and this year to be a competitor was surreal.

In the 2013 season I will be back to step one, training harder to race double the distance. I hope to complete my first Olympic Distance race, race well at CSG and maybe even try a continental cup!

2. I also want to thank the Edmonton Triathlon Academy board especially Sheilla O Kelly for helping to develop an RTC in Edmonton Alberta. Under the RTC we now have access to recovery monitoring programs, track practices with the U of A and partnerships with United Cycle. We have a team of people who are helping to ensure we can become the best athletes possible; I am truly grateful. This is an incredible opportunity to develop as a triathlete, and I can’t think of a better place to currently be.

3. I also want to thank Susan Cockle, Sports Psychologist. Susan has helped me to become confident in racing and life and general, I look forward to whats to come now that I have overcome some obstacles.

4. Of course I want to thank Mom and Dad, without you I would not be able to fulfil my dream of racing at a high level in triathlon. I am extremely lucky to have parents who will help ensure I accomplish all of the goals I set out for myself.

5. Lastly in 2013 my goal is to do more philanthropic work as this is something that is extremely important to me. In 2012 a dream of mine came true; with the help of sponsors I created the Website Create A Better Future. This site helps to raise awareness about the local art community as well as local and global organizations. In 2013 I am particularly interested in displaying the artwork of the organization iHuman and helping to raise funds to ensure their organization will continue its amazing work for years to come.  Check it out http://www.createabetterfuture.org

6. In 2012 I was fortunate to meet various University Administrators after receiving the Queens Jubilee Medal for community Leadership. They introduced me to the organization Wisest which works to inspire Aboriginal Youth to achieve  goals they to set out for themselves. I also will work with the Department of Science to organize fundraisers for the on campus foodbank etc.

2013 will be full of exciting opportunities; training under ETA,  working towards completing a degree which interests me (psychology), and meeting more inspirational people!

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog, new motto for 2013= Feel the fear and do it anyways.

Happy 2013 🙂

Jessie

Already tagged

323776_10151064290139334_1575535581_ocopy-529989_10150953791450849_1824881720_n1.jpg289077_10151064287704334_1123490863_o-1562903_4402118217655_276761929_n-1

 


Leave a comment